Out of the Mouths of Babes

The Friday of the tragic Connecticut shooting was eye opening for several reasons.  The largest eye opener came from my 3 year old daughter.

That evening, my family and I were going to spend time with a few families from our church.  Although some had suggested that we not talk to our kids about the school shooting that day, we figured it would be better to hear the day’s events from us rather than another kid or adult. My wife began to explain to our children a portion of what we know. She told them that we are sad, and that the shooter did not love God in his heart when he did this.

My daughter replied, “he had himself in his heart.”

I’m still floored by this thought. 

Isn’t that the root of sin, loving self more than God?

I encourage you to love God with all your heart, soul, mind and strength. I pray that your love for Him shines as you love your neighbor.

His peace.

Leave a Reply

