The Depth of Grace

grace

Grace.

What a powerful word.

What an awesome, patient, and loving God who gives it!

I was not aware of how little I knew about His grace until I began to hear it mentioned so often amongst the current body with which I fellowship.

I am completely aware that now that I know more about His grace, I still know very little about it.

But I encourage you to read and study more about it, and to thank Him for His grace.

The most known reference to grace is Ephesians 2:8-9.  It is good news– we are saved by grace!  We cannot be prideful as if we have earned our salvation.

But here is what I don’t hear preached and proclaimed often– that we were saved by grace to do good works.  It is interesting because you only have to go to the next verse (10) to see that.  Why is this not talked about often?
I encourage you to see what the Bible says about grace, and how it changes our walk. Here is a portion of the little I know:

  • grace teaches us to deny ungodliness and worldly desires(Titus 2:12)
  • grace teaches us to live righteously and godly (Titus 2:12)
  • grace is given to those who humble themselves (Proverbs 3:34)
  • living under grace is not an excuse for continuing to practice sinful behavior (Romans 6:15)
  • grace causes thankfulness to abound to His glory (2 Cor. 4:15)
  • your words should always be spoken with grace (Colossians 4:6)
  • words you speak can give grace to those who hear them (Ephesians 4:29)
  • those who profess faith in Christ can fall short of His grace, and defile others.  We are called to look out for this amongst our brothers and sisters (Hebrews 12:15)
  • believers should rest their hope on the grace that is to come (1 Peter 1:13)
  • by grace we serve God with reverence and godly fear (Hebrews 12:28)
  • King James version says that we sing with grace in our hearts to the Lord (Colossians 3:16)

There are many more references to grace in the Scriptures, but hopefully you can see there is depth to His grace.

Learning more about grace helps me further understand the lyrics “oh for grace to trust Him more,” or “twas grace that taught my heart to fear, and grace my fears relieved.”

I want to encourage you to allow His grace to do all that He allows in your life.  Go forth in Grace Alone, knowing that He Giveth More Grace!

The grace of Christ be with you.

Leave a comment